EX is the first album from Richie Hawtin’s Plastikman in nine years. Hawtin was an influential part of Detroit’s techno wave in the early 1990s and continues to be a leading pioneer of minimal techno. Hawtin’s work with technology has continued to put him at the forefront of contemporary electronic music. Hawtin is well known and
regarded for his work under the alias, Plastikman under which he released a series of minimalist records during the 1990s and early 2000s that put him on the map as a leading electronic artist.

EX was recorded live at the Guggenheim Museum in New York City in 2013. Hawtin says of his performance at the Guggenheim, “it’s risky to be in a different context, and actually push music in a different angle than you would in a nightclub... And it’s challenging to find the right balance between art and music. That’s why I agreed to do this.”
All seven tracks on EX feature Plastikman’s signature minimalist workings with transfixing repetitive elements that prove minimalist music is far from simplistic.

1. EXposed
2. EXtend
3. EXpand
4. EXtrude
5. EXplore
6. EXpire
7. EXhale


You have 0 items in your cart.
Your total is:


New Vinyl Releases